share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


Good Weekend, Crazy Monday

2003-08-04 5:16 p.m.

My weekend was of the good. Not great because I'm PMSing. I never know any more exactly what that's going to entail- some months its the sore boobs that feel like they weigh 150 pounds each; some months its nasuea; some months it's extreme hunger; some months its nothing; some it's all of the above. Saturday it was hot flashes. And don't tell me I'm too young for them. I know that. But I've been having them on and off ever since I had to have an ovary removed. The One Left Behind tries her darnest, but sometimes I guess it's just too much.

Anyway, Sat - slept late, needed to do laundry so I could have something to wear out Sat night, but decided to go fill the car up and run it through the car wash first. After that I decided I should run into Target, since it's right beside the gas station, and get some Armour-All (or however you spell it) wipes for my car. While in Target I spent $112 bucks, got an entirely new outfit - shirt, pants, necklace, bracelet, even a purse to match my shirt, and shoe. I was quite pleased. Especially since I usually never find any clothes I like in Target.

That took care of my laundry need for Saturday, so I took a nap before going out. I picked up Danielle and met our friends up in Carlsbad. That's such a cute little town, right near the ocean. We ate inside in the restaurant - as the patio was standing room only - but by the time we finished and went back out we found seats then just chilled on the patio and talked for hours. For a change it was me getting hit on instead of Danielle. She's drop dead georgeous so usually with her I'm invisable girl - which is totally cool with me. Cause I usually attract freaks. And Saturday night was no exception. 46 yr old dude, who looked MUCH older SO wouldn't leave me alone. "come on, lets go dance!" "You have the most beautiful eyes I've ever seen! I can just tell you're a sweet person." Yeah, whatever. I played nice with my no-thank-yous for a while, but it got old and I had to pretend he was the invisible one so he'd leave me alone. Heartless me I guess.

Sunday I got up early - early for a Sunday - around 9. I showed, took Roshi for a walk then drove down to the humane society. I've decided it's time for another dog. Roshi spent the first year and 1/2 having another dog in the house. At first after Chassie was gone Roshi was just so depressed. But I didn't want to just "replace" Chassie. She's irreplaceable. So I waited, but I also made sure that the apartment complex that I moved into would allow 2 dogs. It took Roshi a bit of time to come back out of her shell, but now she's all about the neighbood dogs. So much so that she doesn't want to play anymore when we're inside. She just sits and listens for one of her bud to come out so we can go out. So I've decided it's time.

Animal Shelters break my heart. I love dogs so much!! I just want to take them all home. The hard part here in SD is that most of the dogs in shelters are "big" dogs - think golden retriever or lab size. Most apartment complexes don't take dogs at all but if they do they have to be under 20 lbs. And only 16% of the population owns, so lots of homeless big doggies :-( But I digress again. I went to the shelter downtown to find out the fees and what information they need, etc, etc. They did have 3 small dogs, 1 not ready for adoption, one with a broken leg :-( which wouldn't work with Roshi being a speed demon wanting to run and play & a 3rd that didn't get along with other dogs. I did some checking on-line today - most of the shelters list the dogs they have and even have pictures. But again not much luck as most of the dogs were big.

Then I found an organization called Foundation for the Care of Indigent Animals. They're a non-profit group that resuces dogs and some cats and places them in foster homes until they can be adopted. This particular group works mainly with small dogs, under 20 pounds. When I was in college I did a lot of volunteer work for an organization like this and it was great because the foster person could really tell you about the personality of the pet. At a shelter the dog's in a cage surround by tons of other dogs and you don't know much else other than what shots they've had and how they react in the shelter environement - which could really be considered a hostile one. It's like doggie prision. How would you act? I wouldn't be social, happy and well-adjusted either!

So anyway, the foster parents really know the animal & it's quirks plus they never let you take the animal right away. They verify that your apartment accepts pets, they verify your vet's info and how well you've taken care of your current or previous pets. They make sure your lifestyle fits what the dog needs. And I'm not saying that shelters don't, this is just more personal.

SO (man I'm all about the ramble today) they currently have 27 dogs available and are having an adoption fair this upcoming Saturday. One of the dogs is a fox terrier and it she's the same weight and age as Roshi. And rosh is a terrier mix - I've always thought she looked like mostly fox terrier. So maybe that would be a good match. But there are a number of other dogs as well that are described as perky, sweet, energetic & gets along well with other dogs. So hopefully by next Saturday I'll be on my way to mommy-hood, again :-)

PS to Pat - Sorry I didn't e-mail you back, but I'm gald you enjoyed Sean & DVN!! I'll e-mail you tomorrow :-)

~t

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next