share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


Welcome Back to the Work Week

2003-09-29 9:40 a.m.

Of course I've been here and hour and 1/2 and have yet to accomplish any real work, as I've been reading everyone's Pella reviews from the weekend :-) Thanks to all the reviewers!

If I weren't such a lazy slack ass, I'd have a Ghost of the Robot review, but since I didn't go see them, I don't.

Overall, it was a pretty lazy weekend for me. Friday night after work J, D & I headed over to El Torito where we met some other Marriott folks for a few drinks. Much fun was had: good food, great 1/2 drinks, many laughs.

Saturday I slept late, took the doggie for a super long walk and had a great breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon & grits. Since the closet Craker Barrel is 2 hours away, I guess I must make my own unhealthy, yet oh-so-tasty breakfast, dangit!

Later in the afternoon I went to check out the new LA Fittness down the street. I had managed to sweet-talk my way into a year's free membership last week. One of our hotels had set up a deal with them & part of the deal was free memberships for some of the hotel's staff. I'm "sort-of" staff... even though I don't do squat with that hotel. But still. Free memebership.

It's a nice facility. And while I'm thinner than I was in NC, I still feel like quite the porker, especially since I'm in one of the healthiest cities in the country (damn skinny healthy people! ;-) I feel that the time has come for me to be not so lazy and work out. Plus I've been saying forever I want to do Pilates or Yoga & they have classes for both. I have zero exucse now.

Post looking around I went to Ross (cause I couldn't find Marshall's in La Jolla) and got some more workout clothes. A couple pair of pants, 2 more sports bras & new socks. When coming out off Ross, I saw the Marshall's right across the parking lot. damnit.

Then it was off to Robinson-May to buy more foundation. I love having so many department store's here. It seems like whenever I run out of something, someone is having their Estee Lauder Free Gift time.

On the way back to the car I decided to walk through Nordstroms because I never had. Yeah, I won't be buying anything there, in like ever! I saw a really cute pair of boots, turned them over, $250. I stopped to look at a suit that was pretty cool. Just the jacket - $2,200. I kid you not. I didn't bother to check the skirt.

Sunday I decided to go test drive new cars. First stop was the Honda place. I've been drooling over the Elements for months now. But you know how sometimes you can think you want a car until you actually sit in it or drive it? So I decided to drive the Element and OH MY GOSH!! I must have one of these cars (or "city" suv - whatever)!! The ergonomics of it were great & it drove so well. Plus it actually fits in California parking spaces {parking spaces here are tiny!}.

In fairness to the logic side of my brain, I also looked at a couple other cars. I look at the Toyota Rav4. As soon as I sat in it I knew it wasn't for me. I also drove a Toyota Matrix. That drove really well, but I still love the functionality of the Element so much more. My goal for 2004 is to do lots of Road-Tripping, culminating with a 3 week vacation in December where I'm going to drive from San Diego to Charlotte NC, then back. So it's important I get a car that I love, won't mind spending tons of time in, plus meets my needs {main one - room for Roshi to run around the back & still have space for her big huge dog carrier - you could fit about 20 of her in that thing. Maybe 30.}.

I talked with Gieco about the insurance costs then spent lots of time on my budget. I'm really going to be able to afford this car! I'm very excited. I now need to talk with BoA about financing, but I'm also going to check the credit union too. Of course there's no hurry on that since I need to save up a couple thou for a down payment, on top of the thou I need to save for my trip home this december. Saving is not my forte. But as I have Mom & Dad holding the title to my current car for me in NC (I never changed my address with BB&T when I moved so the title to the Dodge got mailed to them when I paid it off), I can't make an impulse purchase.

Plus I should drive some of the other less expensive models out there, just to make sure the Element is what I want.

Ok, time to work now!

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next