share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


TV Talk

2003-10-10 1:38 p.m.

Angel

First I have to say that Kristen (formerly Wanda) redeemed herself Wed night on E! News Live. She had not 1, but 2 segments live on the Angel Set. And it seems I wasn't the only one who though it was suppose to coincide with the season premier. DB's first question: "So what happened last week?" But I guess it was worth the wait. DB was in a hyper-happy mood & it was cool that he introduced alot of the behind the scenes guys. James was all wrapped up in his coat like he was freezing, but seemed happy too. They also talked to J. (Gunn) and Amy (Fred). No Alexis (Wesley), who was probably taking a couple days off since he's getting married this weekend to the amazing Alyson Hannigan. {That news wasn't said by Wanda - that's just me knowing that Nick Brendon (Xander) and Tom Lenk (Andrew) aren't doing BuffyFest this weekend because they'll be at the wedding}.

The major good news from the E! segment - JM confirmed he has already filmed a nude scene for this season. Big huge YAY. Now on to the show:

Just Rewards 5.2

Written by David Fury & Ben Edlund (of Tick fame)

Directed by James Contner

I was amazingly shocked when the show opened with a back screen and small white letters that said:

Sunnydale, California

followed by: The Hellmouth

Nineteen Days Ago

Then they acutally showed a clip from Buffy. The clip actually with Buffy and Spike right before he burns into oblivion. Not surprising if you think of it only as "well they're both Joss's shows" but very surprising when you remember they're both owned by Fox, but UPN has licensing options to Buffy S7 for a bit longer & Angel's on the WB... I think if Buffy weren't off the air, that clip wouldn't have happened. But I digress.

Good opening. I liked the initial camera work - although it was probably the editing that i liked. The back and forth from Spike to all the characters was choppy and unsetteling, which was meant to convey Spikes confusion at the situation. Good Job James Contner.

After the good opening, things were in the ok range. The lense choice I thought was odd. Anyone who was talking was in focus - as it should be - but then whomever was in the background was super fuzzy. I don't recall JC using this as much, especially in the "one-over" shots. But you know, he's going to be at BuffyFest this weekend, so maybe I'll ask him about it.

The dialogue was solid, not outstanding. This was still an "exposition" episode, setting up the season, and there's only so much you can do with that. There were some funnies, which I attribute to Ben, but mostly because I hate David Fury.

I liked the way Angel and Spike are jealous of each other & at first it seems because it's just about Buffy, but we learn as we go it's alot more about "The Soul Issue".

speaking of Buffy.... 19 days later & she's in Europe? The girl wasted no time. But if the whole town collapsed into a big huge crater and was swallowed up by the hellmouth, wouldn't that mean her passport was swallowed too?

JM got to insult everyone, which is fun always. Angel was Captain Forehead and Beefcake & Wesley was Percy. Angel called Spike Casper which was alot more effective than you would have thought.

But this episode's writing wasn't great, and the camera work was strange, too much Harmony and not enough Lorne, but special effects were great - and the Non-Verbal? Off The Charts. James Marsters is a amazing at saying a novel with one look, and David B seems to be getting better. I loved the scene he couldn't figure out the elevator door & the discussion of Spikes "three weeks mopeing in a basement".

So over all, I'm quite happy. And next week we get to see Angel have werewolf sex.

Thursday Night TV Stuff

Friends - funny. Last week was better & I hate the "when Ross does something that makes him seem like a big goob" stories.

CSI - God how I love that show. It was gripping all the way through, then at the end there was the emotional sucker punch. I cried.

I've given up on the American Coupling. The last two weeks I flipped back and forth with CSI, but it just can't compete. It's word for word with the BBC, with just enough of the funny left out. Or maybe I've just seen the BBC versions too many times.

Tonight - No TV as I must be in bed early early early, so I can be downtown in the morning at 7am for my day of Buffy Stuff :-)

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next