share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


The Big Freakout

2003-12-04 4:35 p.m.

So my apartment complex decided to give me a near heart-attack this week. My lease expires at the end of this month so I've been looking for the letter to let me know how much my increase will be if I renew. Because you know it always goes up.

I got the letter out of the mail box yesterday afternoon but didn't sit down to open it until about 8:30 last night. For 2003, my current lease, my rent was $975. What they said my rate would be for 2004? $1,240. Plus the $25 pet fee. Um, yeah. A 27.1% increase for the same 533 sqft aparment? And oh, I have until the 31st of Dec to decide if I'm renewing or going month-to-month for $1,390. plus pet fee.

I was so in tears. I can't afford $1,240 a month! Plus I don't want to. But since I'm leaving for NC in 2 days, and will be there for 8, when would I possibly have time to find a new apartment. Not to mention the fact that there's no way I could save up enough money to move by the end of the month unless I yet again bought zero christmas presents for anyone (which is what I had to do last year since I had just moved).

Of course I'm completely miserable this morning. I was ready to tell Jacqui that no matter what I was leaving in May when my time is up. I was on the phone crying to my dad. Danielle was looking through the Reader trying to find me a new place to live. Finally, around 2pm Jacqui, who had been in meetings all day, and I went for a smoke & I told her about the rent increase.

When we got back to the office she had me start checking on the legalities of an increase that high & she called the rental office to inquire about the price of a one bedroom. $999. So if they're letting new people move in for $999, why are they charging me $1,240?

Plus, I found on-line that it's a state law that a landlord has to give you 60 days notice if they are going to increase your rent by more than 10%. So why would my landlords be breaking the law? Jacqui's thought (and I'm such a dork that it never occured to me) - it's a mistake.

So I called the rental office. Thank you God, it was a mistake. They're sending out new letters today. Plus, extra bonus, if I renew for a year, I actually will have no increase at all. How wonderful is that? See, if I had just thought about it logicly & not paniced, I could have saved my self tons of stress and tears. Stupid panic!

Now all is well. I have the huge relief and I can once again plan on buying Christmas presents for Mom, Dad, Sis, her hubby, and Ally & Noah. One day I'll be at a point where I can once again buy for friends as well as family, but probably not as long as San Diego is home base.

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next