share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


An Extreme Cold Front

2003-10-01 11:32 a.m.

I was watching the weather Monday night on the local channels - fox and wb (I'm such a geek I have to watch it on both), then the same channels yesterday morning & all of the weather guys said, while pointing to the map that there was a low pressure front that should move in by Wednesday, dispelling the current high pressure that has had our humidity at 90% for about a week.

They all used phrases like "it's really going to cool off come Wednesday!" and "This will be our first big taste of Fall." Then they showed the 5 day out look with the temps. Monday and Tuesday (while still in apparently "summer" weather) the highs for the coastal region - 75. Today, the first day of the cold front & our new Fall Weather - the high's suppose to be 71. Wow. 4 degrees. That is cold! I better pull my jacket out....

Of course, in the non-sarcasm world, the humidity is down now to 68% and I guess that is more Fall like than 90%. But back to the sarcasm, because of our lovely marine layer our highs on Monday and Tuesday were at a balmy, summery 68.

More Cali news: Arianna Huffington dropped out of the Recall Race yesterday & is now urging everyone to vote to keep Gov. Davis. Her reason? 'Because I've realized that's the only way to keep Arnold from winning.' Right. I'm sure it has nothing to do with the fact she was polling at 2%. Freak. Her bitchy catty comments to Arnold during the debate made her look stupid and irrational and actually increased support for Arnold.

All the national media keeps going on-and-on about this election being "a circus". But for once, yay for the local guys, at least here in San Diego, for showing what all the candidates are saying and doing and not just using the story as a ratings booster. Because honestly it's not a circus. Yes, there might be 135 names on the ballot, but there are really only 3 candidates with any kind of chance. And regardless of political commentary denoting otherwise, this is actually a very serious thing. Our state's economy is in serious trouble and is only getting worse because Grey Davis is trying to win as many votes as he can at this point by signing almost everything that's coming across his desk. He signed the bill to let undocutmented aliens get driver's liscenses (a bill he's been against for quite a while) to up his popularity with the Latino community. {I'm not saying I support or don't support that I just think it's a little smarmy to change your mind just to get votes). Yesterday he signed a bill to change the Workers Comp laws, but what he signed lowers premiums by cutting benefits - including doing away entirely with a rehabiliation program to help someone who's been injured in such a way they can no longer do the job they use to. Need to learn a new skill because your hand got chopped off at work? Too damn bad, Gov Davis wanted to get some votes so you best just go ahead and bend right over.

And speaking of screwing the majority of the voters in the state - let's talk about the Car Registration Fees. A completely non-proportionate tripling of fees. If you can afford a lexus, you can afford the new fees. If you're renewing you 7 year old honda that you just hope and pray every day will get you to work and back, but you still have to drive because the concept of affordable housing doesn't exist in this state - $230 compaired to $73 is a hell of a lot of money to fork out. If he'd repealled the car tax yesterday instead of cutting benefits to injured workers, I'm sure the 63% of people who want him out of office would drop quite a bit.

Ok, political rant over. I'm not done, but I'll stop before I get to the ever popular "budget solution" of raising the states taxes. Hopefully he won't have time to sign that before next week.

Next topic. I went to work out last night. Yay me (finally). I took it pretty easy so I wouldn't be sore today. A mile on the treadmill, then went to the machines to work on arms, legs and belly. There's this horribly evil crunch machine. You set the weight. Put your legs under the bar at the bottom, put your hands on the bars beside you, then according to directions "squish". Swear to god, it actually says squish in the directions. You pull up with your legs, push down with your arms and "squish" your body together. Evil.

I shan't be working out tonight as I have to get home by 7 to watch E! News Live. The lady that use to be "Wanda" but I think she's Kristen now... anyway she's a huge fan of Buffy and Angel and she's suppose to have an on-the-set-of-Angel report tonight. Last year for Buffy's 1st night she did an on-the-set-of-buffy-with-James-Marsters thing. Anyway, I must see that. Then do laundy for an hour, the watch the season primere of Angel. Yay :-) I read that Spike only has like 2 minutes of screen time, but I hope it's more. I loved the few scenes JM and DB had together in Buffy S2, so this year should be great :-)

Happy Me :-)

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next