share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


oddness abounds

2003-10-17 2:37 p.m.

Its been a strange couple of days lately. The biggest strangeness for me is the whole Grocery Store Workers Union Strike. Unions not big in the south. I've never seen an actual picket line. I bought some groceries last weekend pre-strike. Last night I needed to go the grocery store but I chickened out & just went to Target instead. I got milk and cereal & a box of velveta shells & cheese. But I need to do real grocery shopping this weekend so I guess I'll have to cross the picket lines.

I'm torn about that because I do want to support workers rights. Pay cuts suck or rising insurance costs - however it breaks down. But also, I support my right to buy food. Kindof an essential thing. There's not a Food4Less near me, I don't have a Costco membership and Sav-on doesn't sell meat, so I'm pretty much stuck.

Wal-mart Supercenters are getting the blame for all of this. There aren't any in San Diego as of yet. But if there were, that's where I'd shop. Vons, Ralphs and Albertsons are expensive. Very. The cereal I bought at Target last night was a dollar cheaper than at any of the above stores. The shells and cheese? 2 dollars less. A dollar or two might not seem like a lot when you're buying one item at a time, but when you buy 2 weeks worth of food the dollars add up.

Vons has great service, but their employees make an average of $15 an hour. I think that at that wage they could afford the $5 for insurance, $10-15 for the whole family. My insurance is $20 for just me. o-well.

*****************

My therapist says I have social anxiety disorder. I don't think I'm anxious about people, I just don't like them that much ;-)

*****************

Last night around 9pm I went to close my blinds over my sliding glass door to my balcony. There was some guy sitting on the bench between my building and the next one. Where that bench is it's pretty dark. I thought it was odd. So about 15 minutes later I peeked out & he was still there. Just sitting. Jeans, white tee, red baseball cap. Another 15 minutes, still there. Finally after an hour I called the police. I mean it was just freaky. Who the hell sits outside in the middle of an apartment complex by themselves, for a hour, in the dark. Not on a cell phone, not smoking a cig, nothing. Just sitting.

It took the cops about 10 minutes to get there. I was peeking out when the guy got up and left in a hurry. 2 seconds later I saw the beam of a flashlight. 'Twas the cops. To me, if you aren't doing anything wrong, why would you amscray when the police show up? He could have been just some kid with nothing to do. He could have been a peeping tom. Or he could have been a thief or a rapist waiting for the lights to go out either in my apartment or the single lady's who lives downstairs so he could break in. The police said I did the right thing by calling & said they'd patrol the neighborhood as part of their normal patrols that night. I went to bed feeling a little better, but still kinda freaked. I didn't sleep to well.

Today when I get home I'm going to let the neighbors in my building know about that guy, especially the lady downstairs and the lady next door, since they too live alone.

***************

No weekend plans for me, other than breaking a picket line and going to the gym I guess. I did buy Stitch the Movie last night, as well as The Lion King, so I have lots of Disney I can watch. Plus I still have 4 & 1/2 hours of the Lilo & Stitch the Series Marathon I taped on Monday I can watch. Have I mentioned how much I love Disney?

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next