share with me the moments of you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos Copyright(c) Rockapella. Used With Permission

change of pictures.... - 2004-09-10

Pet Peeve Rant - 2004-09-08

Ah Frances - 2004-08-31

Happy Birthday Mo!!! - 2004-08-25

Best Monday EVER - 2004-08-24


I guess it's time for an update

2003-11-05 4:40 p.m.

Well, it's been a few days since I've put pen to paper, so to speak. Of course now that I'm making the concerted effort, words are still not that forthcoming. I guess I'm going through a non-verbal spell.

As a point of observation, I went to the grocery store today to get some sushi for lunch (Ralphs - great fresh sushi, but the lady still assured me she had only put out what I picked up about 15 minutes ago). I went to get into the express checkout lane with my one item and this lady all but knocked me over with her buggy to get in front of me. Plus she had like 25 things & was in the "express lane". So out of prinicpal I refused to wait behind her and I went to the other express lane. In this lane, the lady in front of me had nothing in her hands at all. She gets up to the guy and asks for a pack of ciggaretts. They have a lane that has cigs in them, but just the one. So the guy has to leave his register & go get them for her. Why she couldn't get in the cig lane is anyone's guess. Then she got cash back on her ATM card and asked for her $10 as a roll of quarters. The guy didn't have a roll of quarters but told her she could go to customer service with her $10 bill and they could help her. She got very huffy with the poor guy, like she couldn't believe he would have the gall to not have a roll of quarters just for her. "Fine! I'll go to the damn customer service counter!!!" - and she did. And by the way, the customer service counter is the line where they sell the cigs.

So then I go out to my car and I see the lady who had almost knocked me over pushing her empty buggy. But not to the slot where you are suppose to put them and not to the front of the store. She just pushed it into the empty parking space in front of her SUV. Which was a handicapp space. She then walks back to her SUV, which was also parked in a handicapp space, but with no tags or any other indication that she was actually handicapped, and leaves.

And while none of these goings on really had any kind of adverse effect on me - I wasn't in a hurry so I didn't mind waiting behind the cig/quarter lady & I wasn't in need of the parking spot with the empty cart in it (which I did move to actual return spot), it still saddens me somewhat that people aren't more aware of how their actions in public can effect others. How hard is it to leave a handicapp spot for someone who actually needs it? How hard is it to put the grocery cart where it belongs? Are those 2 extra minutes of your day so very precious that you can't spare them to do the polite thing for the good of a faceless humanity?

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Contact
Diaryland

previous - next